Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon everyone- I'm new here, but have been reading the forums for some time now. I have just completed a 600+ mile journey down the east coast (From New Haven CT to Chapel Hill, NC) in order to find out how far I could travel on the amount of energy in a gallon of gasoline.

A gallon of gas contains 31,000 Calories, which is a heck of a lot of energy. In order to measure my Caloric usage, I used a Polar F11 heart rate monitor with OwnIndex. Then I just started riding my head off each day. I went over 600 miles in 8 days, which was by far the most I've ever ridden in a week.

Here's a picture of the bike I rode, and you can read about the trip at https://onegallon.blogspot.com

And here's a picture of me right where I finished.

In order to calculate your MPG for a given ride, just do (31,000/# Calories) * Miles you rode

· Frog Whisperer
41,533 Posts
you didn't drink the gas did you?.....hey isn't 31,000 kcal just about 23 double 1/4 pounders with cheese and large fires?.....ok....so I guess gasoline isn't REALLY that expensive!.....still in all I would rather ride and eat...support your local farmers! (disclaimer: I am NOT advocating eating 23 double 1/4 pounders with cheese and fries )

· Registered
168 Posts
What an awesome accomplishment! BTW, is that the planetarium behind you? I lived in NC until I was 13, when we moved to VA. I lived between Hillsborough and Carrboro on Old NC 86, but our address was Chapel Hill. I definitely sympathize with you in your love for Duke, and my GA Bulldog fan friends don't understand. (Of course, they also aren't aware that there are sports other than football. I am in awe of the Duke basketball program and Mike K! I still remember Christian Laetner [sp?] and the Dream Team.)

· Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·