Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
I've got to get in shape.
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I rode today on a "heavy" steel bike with downtube shifters and (gasp!) standard, non-compact 9 speed gearing that had no electronics to measure my speed, heart rate, average speed, altitude, temperature, attitude and gas output. I guess that I don't need those intermediate gears that Campy, Shimano and Sram claim that I do.

It was fantastic! Now I remember why I started riding over 20 years ago.

·
Registered
7,345 Posts
I rode today on a "heavy" steel bike with downtube shifters and (gasp!) standard, non-compact 9 speed gearing that had no electronics to measure my speed, heart rate, average speed, altitude, temperature, attitude and gas output. I guess that I don't need those intermediate gears that Campy, Shimano and Sram claim that I do.

It was fantastic! Now I remember why I started riding over 20 years ago.
What's weird? I find no need to gasp over down tube friction shifting even after owning 2 different kinds of briftor styles. My oldest friction shifting system is a 83 Suntour Superbe transmission that was converted from 5 speed, to 6 speed, to now 7 speed and it shifted all those gears with the same speed and accuracy of the modern stuff. The modern stuff only has convenience going for it. Sure you can miss a shift with friction if you don't know how to do it right, but I've missed shifts on the modern stuff too. But the big negative with modern stuff is the complication of the briftor and the cost to replace parts when they wear out which wear out faster then the old school stuff ever did.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Your purist, retro ride has a 9-speed cassette? You have pretty much all those intermediate gears.

Try a 5-speed freewheel.

Better yet, ride a fixed gear, preferably one converted from an old, cheap road bike, with various cast-off parts; you'll think you died and went to cycling heaven.