Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, here is my problem. First I am a semi-poor college student who doesn't want to spend 200 dollars on new tires. I think the most I want to spend is about 35-50$$ each tire. Secondly, I'm not looking for a super sticky road tire that is going to wear out in under 500 miles. I am looking for something to last a while. I have narrowed it down to a few tire and need some help selecting the finals one!!!!!!

First; Continental Grand Prix 4000
Pros: Long Life, Colors options, Kevlar, girlfriend has them and loves them, weight, roll-resistance.
Cons: Price!!! :(
http://biketiresdirect.com/productdetail.asp?p=COG4K

Second: Michelin Krylion Carbon Tire

Pros: Long life, Price is great!
Cons: Maybe not as good as the Continentals, I know nothing about there tires.
http://biketiresdirect.com/productdetail.asp?p=MIKRC

Third: Vittoria Rubino Pro II Road Tire

Pros: Price, High miles,
Cons: Never heard any reviews, non-Kevlar. Roll-resistance, weight.
http://biketiresdirect.com/productdetail.asp?p=VIRP2

So basically, I need some help! I would greatly appreciate it! Are the Conti's worth the 55 dollars or are the Michelin that are on sale a better deal.???? I just want something that last long, and doesn't:) puncture easily!

THANKS!!!!
Andy

·
Registered
83 Posts
I can only give a :thumbsup: to the Vittoria Rubino's as thats what came on my bike and I continue to ride as well. I have run over some nasty things with them and hit some ugly bumps and they have held up great. Also the do have Kevlar in them according to the website, see below.

new 'Kevlar Endura 3D Compound', with high duration and exciting road-behaviour;
- PRB puncture protection;

Since cost is an issue, you might want to try ProBikeKit.com. Approximate prices (shipped) for the models you listed are:

Continental 4000 - $33
Michelin Krylion - $25
Vittoria Rubino Pro II - $20