Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to get fitted this evening for a frame. I've been biking for 16 years and I'm now 50 years old, 135lbs at almost 5'6". I'm presently riding a Alu/Carbon bike (last 7 years) and I'm just getting beaten up on the roads we have here in Quebec... It's equipped with Ultegra 9-speed, (7 years-old) and new Easton EA90 SLX wheels. It weighs around 18 pounds as is.

I'm sure steel and Ti are both more comfortable, but I know it's not full-suspension comfortable!!! So, can someone tell me, realistically, what difference I would be able to feel between steel and Ti frames. The only carbon would be the fork. Seat and chainstays will be steel or Ti.

Weight-wise, are we talking about a few ounces or a few pounds difference? It ain't the Rockies around my place, but the Laurentians have some nice challenges, and I love to climb.

The builder is Marinoni. The steel would be Columbus Spirit. The Ti would be 3/2.5.

I'll be putting RED shifters, Ultegra crankset (unless something else makes sense, weight AND money-wise) and my Easton EA90 SLX wheels. As long as I stay in the 17-pounds range, I'll be happy!!!

I am REALLY looking forward to your input.

Thanks in advance,

Johnnydrz

·
Registered
52 Posts
You will get many opinions on this issue -- here is mine.

Both Steel and Titanium can have "supple" ride properties if made well. Generally, steel will be a bit heavier and a bit cheaper than the same frame made from titanium (but there are always exceptions).