Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 75 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this whole post is going to sound stupid, so flame away if you must. However, here's the convoluted question: When I started riding 20 years ago, I was told, "You don't wear underwear under the Lycra." OK, so I haven't, and I've been fine (and comfortable) with that. However, sometimes my 'man part' has been a bit too obvious, usually on invitationals. Although I am as average as they come, I have shocked a couple of children (and certainly not my intent. I'm no pedophile; in fact, I hate children) and one or two women as well.

Also, when the winner crosses the finish line in this or that Tour and we get a closeup on television, I've noticed that the rider's privates are discreetly hidden (no, I'm not gay either, (not that there's anything wrong with that)). So, what's the secret to being discreet when 'more sensitive' viewers are likely to be in the vicinity? I just don't want to offend anyone; I'm too fat and elderly as it is.

· Good news everyone!
5,461 Posts
I think it just depends on the shorts and how they fit you, and how thick/thin the material is. I've seen that pic online of some race team and you can seriously see every one of their dongs plain as day... more revealing than any underwear you could probably find. Just find some that fit well and are comfortable but not revealing.

· Registered
339 Posts
tindrum said:
do the compression shorts make you any warmer/too warm?
Actually I've found that wearing compression shorts (Under Armour are my favorites) are a better than wearing nothing underneath. Because the compression shorts are so tight, they fit like a second skin, so instead of your skin rubbing on the chamois, the shorts do. That means no friction on your skin, meaning more comfort, and no saddle sores. And no, they don't really make you any warmer.