Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I've been running regularly for at least 2 1/2 years, but due to a mild, overuse injury, I've decided to begin riding my road bikes again, everyday. For the past 3 weeks I've been riding hard everyday, spinning up hills, getting a good aerobic workout. My average has risen one mph, and I am feeling strength in my stroke, more power, more suppleness.

How is my body changing and adapting to my new exercise routine? What part of my leg and back muscles am I using that I was not using while running? What is happening to me?

· Registered
19,427 Posts
are you asking a serious question..?

the sky above said:
Hi. I've been running regularly for at least 2 1/2 years, but due to a mild, overuse injury, I've decided to begin riding my road bikes again, everyday. For the past 3 weeks I've been riding hard everyday, spinning up hills, getting a good aerobic workout. My average has risen one mph, and I am feeling strength in my stroke, more power, more suppleness.

How is my body changing and adapting to my new exercise routine? What part of my leg and back muscles am I using that I was not using while running? What is happening to me?

its called "getting in shape"...it should be obvious, if you're a runner, that you know what muscle groups you're using, that you're probably losing weight, and producing a higher power output. better core muscles, although you may have been fine in that department from running. you're burning calories more efficiently and building muscle endurance..
are you sure you run? what happens when you run regularly at a faster tempo than you're used to? you speed up, right? same thing man..."it never gets easier, you just get faster"

· Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
the sky above said:
How is my body changing? What is happening to me?