Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could someone please help me? I am tired of trying to decide on which bikes to even test ride. I am new to cycling and want something to ride for excercise. I'll ride some short fast rides during the week and some longer rides on the weekend. The bikes I'm looking at are; Felt F80(F75 if i get it cheap enough),Trek 1500 or Pilot 1.2,Cannondale R700, Specialized Allez Elite, Giant OCR1(TCR2 if i get a good deal),Scott S30.

I know you guys are tired of newbies asking this but I have about had it! Please help me out.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I have a Giant OCR 3, which has given me many trouble free miles. Just upgraded to a TCR 2, love it. The difference is noticeable, OCR is a little slower, TCR is not as "comfy" but is much more aggressive. Haven't had any problems with either, and would strongly reccommend Giant as they make great bikes for a good price.

·
here comes trouble
10,049 Posts
I just bought a CAAD8 a few months ago (Cannondale R1000). Test ride it, see if you like it. If you buy a Giant and are more than 160lbs, I would upgrade the brakes. The bikes you listed are VERY different. For instance, a Pilot is going to be an upright ride, where the TCR and R700+ (CAAD8) are race frames. If you're just going to be on short rides (how short?) and longer rides on weekends, these will be fine unless you have back problems. Personally, I have no trouble even doing 100+ miles on my CAAD8 frame, but not everyone is as flexible as I am.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts
If you are "new to cycling", why don't you buy a $300 cross bike at your LBS, to find out if you soon say...."I'm sick of it already!".... After a month or two on a cross bike, you should be able to tell what you really need in a bike, and how things need to be changed. It's always better to be "mis-fit" on a $300 bike, than a $3000 bike.

·
Registered
4 Posts
06 Giant Ocr2