Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been riding a Scattante XRL Carbon SS frame for the past 4 years. It was a (single) butted 7005 Alu frame with a carbon fork. I liked the way it rode, it was stiff but not too stiff for my weight/size (strong 220lbs/12% body fat).

I'd like to move into the new world and get a carbon-framed replacement bike. I've been to my local Performance Bike store and test rode a 61 cm Fuji Team. I found it to be very plush at 20 mph but way, way, to flexy any faster ... I mean, it was squirrelly as hell over 35 mph and I actually had to time my pedal strokes to the frame flex when I was climbing out of the saddle.

I went down to my local Giant bike shop and rode a TCR 2 in Large. I found it to be very stiff. There was no flex when climbing out of the saddle, but there was a lot of vibration when riding over chip seal. The only way I can describe the ride was to liken it to riding a mountain bike that has the fork and shock way over-pressurized. It was great on smooth pavement but felt very "springy" on chip seal.

I went down to Lance Armstrong's new bike shop (Mellow Johnnys) and rode a Seven Ti Race. It felt to me almost exactly like the TCR 2. Very stiff, but with a lot of "springy" feed back.

Now I have an straight-pipe Alu fixed gear frame (Jamie Roy from IRO) and let me tell you that frame is a brick. I mean I feel the wheels bending when I'm hammering out of the saddle, but the frame doesn't move a micron. I find this frame to be too stiff for anything more than 15-40 mile rides. I mean it'll shake out your fillings riding on the Texas chip seal, and it doesn't have any of that "springy" feedback.