Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to improve my flexibility. I was thinking about trying yoga or pilates. I'd like to get some advice if this is the best route. I am a guy and willing to suck it up for better riding.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
When I raced at least twice a week some years ago, I found the Alexander Technique to be very helpful in my quest for speed.
http://www.alexandertechnique.com/

I'm sure hat yoga or pilates could do the same for you, but I've no personal experience with that. One of my heroes (the German pro racer Rudi Altig) practiced yoga before his races in the and was ridiculed for that—until he won the World Individual Pursuit Championship in 1960 and 1961. He went on to win the Vuelta a España (1962), the Tour de France green jersey (1962), the Ronde van Vlaanderen (1964), the World Cycling Championship (1966) and Milan–San Remo (1968).

·
waterproof*
41,608 Posts
Yes, yoga / pilates are good for you. There are studios everywhere, lots of health clubs have classed, even your local Y probably.

... reminds me I need to get back into it.

·
gastarbeiter
1,513 Posts
stay away from bikram.

·
I ride in circles..
4,645 Posts
Best bet... Immediatly after your ride change out of your riding gear and throw on some shorts. Start doing basic stretches while you're still really warm. Hold for 30-45 seconds and don't bob. Static stretching is safe... bouncy stretching can hurt you. Do toe touches with narrow and wide stances, calf stretches, quad stretches. and combinations of them. Take your time and save your money.

Doing this before you shower and relax with increase blood flow and help you recover.

·
Registered
96 Posts
ZoSoSwiM said: