Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had any experience with the Concept2 indoor rower? Thoughts on using indoor rowing as a method of cross training when the weather sucks? My wife thinks she wants one, I just want to make sure that it won't become a place to hang clothes;)

TH

·
Registered
143 Posts
they are a great workout, but make sure you learn how to do it properly, im a former collegiate rower and most people i see at the gym do it completly wron and as likely to hurt there backs as well as not getting nearly as good of a workout

·
Registered
8 Posts
check out the Water Rower also...a bit cheaper than a Concept2 and is a pretty realistic rowing experience.

(I sell this stuff for a living...)

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have used the Concept 2 which I like and the Water Rower which I purchased and like better. It is a great cross training workout but I second the need for proper rowing technique.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the responses.

Any suggestions on proper technique. Local purchase comes with a personal trainer for one hour. Is there anything I should ask or be aware of? One shop has a unit by First Degree Sports for about $1600, sounds nuts, no?

·
Registered
277 Posts
Truth - I think that there are videos of people rowing w/ proper technique. I think if you go to the concept homepage they have at least one. The basics are that you want to do the bulk of the stroke pushing w/ your legs (as if you were lifting something heavy off the floor). On the return stroke, you want to do the opposite of your 'pull' and go forward w/ your hands before you start bending your knees - to not lift the shuttle over your knees (sure sign of someone who does not know how to row)