Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding on an indoor trainer (an Elite Hydroforce+ Fluid). I have noticed that I have a hard time elevating my HR to onroad ride levels. This is for the same cadence and speed in both mediums. To get my HR to outdoor ride levels while I'm on the trainer takes a lot more perceived effort.
Is this a common thing?
Also, it seems a lot harder to spin at higher cadences (95-110 rpm) on the trainer than when I'm on the road....even in the lowest gearing. What gives? Is this common to indoor trainer riding, too?
Any thoughts or sugestions....could it be I set the trainer up incorrectly? I did follow the instructions. Just frustrating that I can't even get anywhere near a roadride-like experience. Does every/anyone else have this situation?
Sorry for the rambling...I don't post very often as I can usually find answers to my ?'s by scrolling thru existing threads or by doing a search. This one eludes me.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Yup

I've never been able to get a "true road" feel from a trainer adn I'v had a few. As far as teh cadence goes, I've felt the same thing. The nice part is that once you are on the road I end up spinning faster. I haven't felt any of the lower heart rate and the perceived effort is about the same. My legs seem to burn more inside than out, but I breath heavier outside, so the effort is reasonably the same. Anyway, didn't really answer much of your question, but just thought I'd relate.

·
Every little counts...
3,924 Posts
Lack of momentum, and the fact that the force stays on while you're over the top makes it a bit tougher. Buck it up and get on it, your spin will adapt after a few weeks.

I have problems reaching my wattage targets compared to outside (10% loss).

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,403 Posts