Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What do you fellows use to inflate your tires ? And check psi ?
I have been using a floor pump but sometimes its a pain to get clipped on the presta vaulve. And the clip always hits my knuckle when I unclip it....Ouch !!
I have been looking at a

Prestaflator Mini that fits on my air compressor.

Is there an easier way to check and inflate road bike tires ?

Thanks for any suggestions

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Get a better pump. I've never had those problems with floor pumps.
Right. Some pump heads work better than others. Most of us use a floor pump with a built-in gauge, and it's easy and quick. What kind of pump is yours? If you're having that kind of trouble, either it's a poor design, it's damaged or defective, or you're using it wrong.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have been using it for several yrs. Its a Bontrager floor pump with guage. Maybe a little squart of lube in the end might help. What are some good floor pumps that i could look at ?

·
Banned Sock Puppet
14,451 Posts
The best way I've found not to hit my knuckles on anything when pulling the chuck out is to not PULL the chuck out. Instead, PUSH it out with your thumbs.

·
Registered
942 Posts
Silca Presta Chuck
This will turn any decent pump into an excellent one. Cut the old chuck off and put this one on with a hose clamp.

·
Registered
710 Posts
The presta chuck on my old floor pump is bad so I just screw a presta to schrader adapter onto my presta valve and use the schrader chuck on my floor pump. The adapter only costs about $1.

·
Registered
760 Posts