Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an aluminum frame with an integrated headset. I bought a Cane Creek IS-2 short (Campy style - 45/45) headset because the bearing contact area is 45/45, but the bearings won't fit, they are too large (42mm), so I need the Cane Creek style at 41mm, they are 36/45, not 45/45 which is what I need.

I am a little confused, and as I am new to this integrated headset thing, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Ian

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,493 Posts
w98seeng said:
I have an aluminum frame with an integrated headset. I bought a Cane Creek IS-2 short (Campy style - 45/45) headset because the bearing contact area is 45/45, but the bearings won't fit, they are too large (42mm), so I need the Cane Creek style at 41mm, they are 36/45, not 45/45 which is what I need.

I am a little confused, and as I am new to this integrated headset thing, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Ian
http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=68

TF

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, but I have already been there. The site doesn't help because like I said before, my headset is 41.1mm and both the bearing contact surfaces are 45 degrees. At 45 degrees, it should be a Campy style, but that is for 41.85 to 41.9mm, that's what I bought, but it's too big.

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,493 Posts
w98seeng said:
Thanks, but I have already been there. The site doesn't help because like I said before, my headset is 41.1mm and both the bearing contact surfaces are 45 degrees. At 45 degrees, it should be a Campy style, but that is for 41.85 to 41.9mm, that's what I bought, but it's too big.
Sounds like a stadard "IS" to me.