Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Banned
3,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last week the weather became more conducive to commuting in Carharts and boots. I'm in my 4th year of my electrical apprenticeship and the job I'll be working on is just under 11 miles from the house. The tools stay locked up in a gang box on the job so I don't have to carry 40# of tools.

At the moment we're working 4pm to 12:30 so I'm riding rural Wisconsin back roads in the dark. No big deal to me, the MiNewt lights up the way well and the blinkie has my rear covered. The first two nights I see a total of 5 cars and 4 of them were within 3 blocks of my house.

In the 1980's and early 90's I lived in Dallas and LA. I had no car for a few years and commuted everywhere. Work, grocery shopping, dates, races and every day events were taken care of by riding my bike. In all those years I had two run-ins where it got physical. They were those typical events were the motorists felt entitled to the whole road and I "should be up on the sidewalk." In both cases the drivers were "working class" caucasian.

In that time I rode through every part of the D/FW metroplex and the Inglewood/Culver City/Burbank triangle. In that time I was never accosted by pedestrians, gang-bangers, skin heads, blacks, hispanics or martians.

So Thurdsay evening one of the other electricians says "don't you worry about getting attacked and your bike stolen by n!ggers?"

I knew there were plenty of simple minded red-necks here in Wisconsin and in the construction trades there is an even higher concentration. But Holy Sh!t dude, shouldn't you get back under that rock you've been living under?

The rest of the crew starts in with all the epithets for all the non-whites and how they think I'm crazy for riding alone and unarmed (wtf!) in the dark.