Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Banned
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been training and racing for about 4-5 years now and its been a roller coaster of trying to find my optimal position (like lots of people I guess),

anyway one thing that has stayed constant in all of that time is my crank length 172.5. Now Ive decided to go over to compact cranks (no....nobody try to talk me out of that I have my reasons :cool: , namely 5000m climbing in one day race on a gruelling tour stage).

But over those years Ive heard alot about changing crank length in larger steps ie, 5-7.5mm like form a 170-175 or 177.5 but not so much about the 2.5mil difference of changing from one to another. I want to change over from 172.5 to 175's as its worth an extra 5watts (everything else being equal) and more leverage on these long steep mountainous climbs I have in mind.

Ok so its a bigger deal changing from say a 170-177.5........but

Bearing in mind that Im finally close to 'dilaing in' my position on the bike right now close to optimum :) , should I try and make a change to a 2.5mm longer cranks?? considering a 5 watt increase and slight decrease in cadence is usefull to me???

· Registered
10,161 Posts
5 watt increase???

Who told you that?

Power = torque times cadence. The extra length gives you an increase in leverage of only 1.4% (175/172.5) so it's pretty trivial, if you consider that a typical 1-cog change is in the 8-11% range.

Whether the longer crank will produce more power is questionable.

All that said, I;ve been running 172.5's for about 7 years and I just bought a new 175 crank to try, just for the heck of it, but have yet to install them. I don't expect any change that I can measure.

· Banned
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Who told you that? C-40

Well I looked at a table at the analyticcycling.com site heres the link: http://www.analyticcycling.com/PedalOpCrankLength_Page.html

if you work it out its 543 watts @172.5mm