Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Adventure Seeker
5,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for about two months now. I ride about three to four times a week, typically 10 to 30 miles. About a month ago, I did a 40 mile ride, and at 2 hours (33 miles for me), I felt totally out of energy. I did hydrate plenty, alternating water and gatorade. I also ate along the way, bananas, pretzels, and a few other things. I figured I was just still getting in shape.
This last Sunday, I did another 40 mile ride and the same thing happened at the two hour mark. My average speed didn't increase over my previous ride.
I've been trying to eat better and hydrate plenty. I'm also using Look pedals now for more power transfer. What is enough so you don't get the bonk? Or am I just feeling fatigued due to being out of shape?

·
Anti-Hero
10,405 Posts
Sounds like your eating/drinking is fine. Just keep riding as much as possible- you'll start to feel better. You can also try eating a gel with a little caffeine (25mg if you aren't used to it, 50mg or more if you regularly drink coffee/energy drinks, etc.) about halfway through your ride. It could give you a boost to finish feeling stronger.

·
No Crybabies
11,692 Posts
both

May be a combination of bonk and fatigue. I have found that this is the difference. With fatigue, once you are there, there's no bouncing back. However, if you are well conditioned, you can bonk, but then when you get carbs back in you, you can go hard again.

Given your short length of training, I'd guess that it is mostly fatigue. Be patient, it takes years of regular training to develop endurance. Work up to it progressively, and don't get discouraged.

·
Adventure Seeker
5,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Fixed said:
Given your short length of training, I'd guess that it is mostly fatigue. Be patient, it takes years of regular training to develop endurance. Work up to it progressively, and don't get discouraged.