Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Hermia commutes
1,496 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do most of my riding on my commute, and my husband has been trying to get me into clipless pedals, largely so that I can be comfortable enough in them to mountainbike with him. Also because he's convinced that platforms suck. I've been riding platforms for 8 months quite comfortably.

My problem is this:
When I'm clipped in, my left leg doesn't feel right. It feels as if it is being gently twisted. If I wiggle around enough to get it lined up comfortably, I end up clipping out. It also feels about as efficient as walking in heels (which I don't do.) When I ride platforms I keep the pedal under the ball of my foot, not the center, but clipped in felt even further up than that, as if I was riding on tiptoe. I did not enjoy the experience at all.

How much of this is an adjustment issue, how much of this is I'm crazy, and does any of this have to do with hip width to knee width ratio?

thanks...

·
Shirtcocker
60,640 Posts
chatterbox said:
I do most of my riding on my commute, and my husband has been trying to get me into clipless pedals, largely so that I can be comfortable enough in them to mountainbike with him. Also because he's convinced that platforms suck. I've been riding platforms for 8 months quite comfortably.

My problem is this:
When I'm clipped in, my left leg doesn't feel right. It feels as if it is being gently twisted. If I wiggle around enough to get it lined up comfortably, I end up clipping out. It also feels about as efficient as walking in heels (which I don't do.) When I ride platforms I keep the pedal under the ball of my foot, not the center, but clipped in felt even further up than that, as if I was riding on tiptoe. I did not enjoy the experience at all.

How much of this is an adjustment issue, how much of this is I'm crazy, and does any of this have to do with hip width to knee width ratio?

thanks...
get speedplays.

·