Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yet another reason to blow red lights. Yesterday I waited for the light to change. I was on my road bike and when I started riding I slipped off the outside of my right pedal and ran the pedal all the way up the inside of my shin. ( "HOLY MOTHER OF... !!" )That hurt... ... a lot.

My Candy C's have been giving me problems lately. I've regreased both pairs that I use regularly so they're smooth but I think the spring area is worn. One of them rattles when you take it off the bike and shake it in your hand. Anybody ever wear out a Candy pedal?

More info: I've ridden one set of Candy C's on my fixed for almost 2 years now, daily.

Arby

LOL... This photo begs for several "two right feet" remarks:

·
On your left!
1,301 Posts
That was from a pedal scrape???

gotta be the worst ever in the history of riding, even when those bear trap pedals were around.

OK, I'll start...
So, with when you buy shoes, do you have to buy two pair? What do you do with the left ones?

·
Big is relative
11,901 Posts
The springs on my right candy pedal rattle. I unclip on that side so maybe that has something to do with it. I talked to CB about it and they said that the tolerances are not that tight on their mtb pedals to allow for mud to clear. The rattle doesn't change with a rebuild kit or greasing. With the exception of the one spectacular bearing failure, my candy pedals have performed flawlessly. The left pedal needs grease once a month due to a crash last year that scraped the end of the pedal up so that the cap doesn't seal. Ugly but functional. 13K on them so far with two rebuilds.

·
The Dropped 1
670 Posts