Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Overall the ride was good and being from San Diego (the Tour De Sewer was in LA) I was surprised to see all of the riders and perfect bike paths along the washes. With that being said I need to get something off my chest...

I started riding a few years back and the one thing I have continued to notice at the majority of organzied rides (not just Tour De Sewer) is two issues...

1. Lack of proper or easily visable route arrows- I bascially plan on riding extra "lost" miles each ride. (Local rides I could understand the "ride the route before hand") but I drove to LA for the ride and it wasn't an option.
2. Anti-Climatic finishes- I'm not looking for a sprint finish or anything like that. These are "rides" not races, but some of those people including me a few years back are damn proud of their first 15, 30, 50, 62, etc... ride. When they finish there isn't anyone cheering, clapping, or anything. I am not sure exactly what would make me happy with this situation, it just seems very anti-climatic.

I know bike riding is about personal acomplishments and knowing you did it is what it's about but sometimes after a long hard ride someone just saying "good job" makes it worth it.

·
Home Brew User!
2,810 Posts
c0braje7 said:
2. Anti-Climatic finishes- I'm not looking for a sprint finish or anything like that. These are "rides" not races, but some of those people including me a few years back are damn proud of their first 15, 30, 50, 62, etc... ride. When they finish there isn't anyone cheering, clapping, or anything. I am not sure exactly what would make me happy with this situation, it just seems very anti-climatic.
How many times have you hung out at the finish line in a ride that you didn't do or even after you completed yours to clap and cheer?

Do you expect them to pay people to applaud you as you cross the line?

·
pinoy thunder
341 Posts