Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· hello
3,395 Posts
Very nice!

I've been using this home made unit for the last 15 years. I've pressed all kinds of headsets with this including C.King headsets.

· Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
azoomm said:
Park Tool HHP-2. I'mma gonna be pressin' the sh!t out of headsets in a couple of days.

Represent.
How often do you have to press headsets to make something like that worth the purchase price? I can't recall the last time I had to replace a headset.

· Registered
5,238 Posts
Bocephus Jones II said:
How often do you have to press headsets to make something like that worth the purchase price? I can't recall the last time I had to replace a headset.
... not trying to brag (ok, just a bit) but since I do my own maintenance and own about 20 bikes, this, along with a crown race puller were justifiable in the past... course, with newer integrated headsets, the need for such is dimming just a bit...

It comes under the heading of
a: the right tool for the job and...
b: I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it

I suspect that I've not used mine since 2003 but since I still have a large fleet of traditional headsets I'll prolly have use for it in the future

· Climbin' Clyde
856 Posts
Nice... I've been too cheap

been using the $3 home brew vershun like Roadfix, and have been using it for years without problem. The nice bonus with the Park tool are the stepped cups fit for specific headset sizes. If you use allthread rod and washers you need to pay attention aligning the cups in the HT as you begin to press.

Cane Creek has a headset with a stepped O.D. that would seem to make things simpler in that regard.

· Registered
12,593 Posts