Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just received my new Kestrel RT700 from BikesDirect. It was my first new bike since...1989! I've been riding a 25lb(everything but me and water bottles) 1989 DiamondBack Centurian MasterTG on and off since I got it. I started riding again here in North Georgia and found that I was shocked that the original 53/42 was killing me on the climbs(21-11 rear). My current bike is full Shimano 105 with Ultegra hubs mounted on Mavic Open4cd clinchers. The hubs are out of true and the bottom bracket seems to be shot! Time for a new bike.:D

After struggling with what to do considering my budget of staying under $2000 it came down to two bikes from Bikes Direct, the Kestrel RT700 versus the Motobecane Immortal Ice. I wanted the Immortal but it wasn't available until August according to the website and the money was burning a hole in my pocket:D .

As for sizing the bike, I went to Colorado Cyclist's website and followed their guide. The tools at www.wrenchscience.com were also very helpful. I compared the suggested frame size with my current bike even though my old bike is CC and the Kestrel is CT which doesn't seem to really matter when considering going from a 1989 steel model to a 2007 carbon fiber model. The geometries are not really close. I struggled with the sizing for about two weeks because everything I did showed me needing 56cm CT and the RT700 comes(among other sizes) 55cm and 57cm. I posted about this and C-40 responded with an extremely helpful post saying basically to go with the 57cm. Then Mike(bikesdirect) responded to a PM saying to go with the 57cm but to also consider the Ti Le Champion SL. It looks like they must have just received a shipment of these because they were all on hold till June 13th. I had spent a fair amount of time researching the RT700 and carbon fiber in general to make the swap to Ti at this point.