Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just saw the movie Hidden Figures.

I'm an engineer, and I'm also a NASA/space nerd. I've read more than 40 books on the mercury, Gemini, and Apollo programs. I've met and discussed topics with two of the authors and I've met four astronauts... drank a few beers with one on several occasions. Yeah, I'm a nerd.

The movie was entertaining, but also provided a horribly inaccurate portrayal of technical aspects of mission control and the interactions that controllers would have had with the 'computers' and even the astronauts themselves. The movie would have you think that mission control was located in Langley. Uhhh.... The first Mercury missions were controlled by folks sitting in Cape Canaveral. Not Langley.:rolleyes:

Shepard, Grissom, and Glenn were launched during the course of the movie, but we never saw Chris Kraft or Gene Kranz.... not even once?:mad2:

Several of the scenes were also pathetically bad.... obvious third grade lessons - explaining simple flight dynamics principles to the movie going audience. Many scenes are also obvious attempts to dazzle the audience with mathematics vocabulary lessons in Euler and Euclidian geometry terms.

I guess the point of the movie is to explain that black women played a large part in the success of the early space program. It does that well. It also smacks you in the face with a lot of the racism that existed in the early 1960's.... especially in the white male, white shirt, black tie, dominated engineering world. I'm sure it existed and I appreciate the crap that these women had to endure during the course of their careers. I just wish the movie had done a better job of being a little more historically and technically correct with the NASA details.

·
hello
3,394 Posts
Despite it's many flaws that I agree with as you pointed out I enjoyed the movie as well. We watched a screener dvd of this film a few weeks ago.

·