Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am a photographer and I have everything thing from multi thousand dollar cameras all the way down to the one on my cell phone. My best camera though, is always the one I have with me.

That being said, I get that the Denali is not supposed to be a good bike, but its been good to me so far and its the one I have.

I am very pleased it, but I would like to know if every bike is "upgradeable"? I didn't want to spend weeks or months researching road bikes. I did that years ago and ended up getting nothing. I was so confused. I spent a lot of time in two LBS and there was a lot of contradictions at the time. My weight was and is my concern with choosing a bike (260ish). I didn't want to speed a lot on a bike and tear it up because I was too heavy (which was basically what I was being told at 320 lbs). I have no doubt that they were right. They are the experts.

I'm a little bit lighter now and in the market for a bike. I found it more important to get going than to sit at my computer and look at hundreds of bikes. The Denali has got me going for less than what I used to spend on fast food in a month, so there's no way to lose there.

Can I upgrade the things that I don't like? Like the twist/grip shifters? Can I get better gears down the line?

I can afford much more bike, but I have nothing to compare my limited experience with. Right now, I like everything else. I see others spending hundreds to thousands on a bike and still upgrading for hundreds and thousands. To each their own. I get it. I do the same with my camera gear for specific reasons.

I know the drill. Even if you have a 2000.00 bike, some people with 5000.00 bikes that have never ridden yours will call it crap and the 7000.00 folks will return the favor to them.