Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
14,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I've used regular oldstyle Look delta cleats for more years than I care to remember, and never broken one. And I'm not real careful with them -- I walk in them a lot.

Just put new Keo pedals on my bike, and first ride -- the front tongue/lip of the left gray cleat snaps off. All right. I figure it's a freak accident. So I get another set of cleats, the red ones this time. First ride -- the front tongue/lip of the left red cleat cracks almost in two at the EXACT spot the first one broke.

Am I just having the world's worst freak bad luck, or is breaking a known problem with these things?

·
No Crybabies
11,692 Posts
yup

Where you been?

I broke one about a week ago. Started out on a ride, and could not for the life of me clip in. Finally figured it out, same thing as you.

However, I've been using these for a couple of years, and this is the first break.

Maybe your shoe has a strange shape that is bending the cleat?

·
Banned
14,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh, I've been around.

I'm wondering if it's my click-in style. I'm used to doing it a certain way, long habit, but the different pedal/cleat take a different angle or technique, and I'm twisting it weird or something. Still, you'd think the things wouldn't break THAT easy.

Fixed said:
Where you been?

I broke one about a week ago. Started out on a ride, and could not for the life of me clip in. Finally figured it out, same thing as you.

However, I've been using these for a couple of years, and this is the first break.

Maybe your shoe has a strange shape that is bending the cleat?

·
Registered
23 Posts