Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've noticed an quite a few professional cyclists along with an increasing number of riders on the road seem to be riding while holding their knees as close as possible to the frame. Is there a noticeable aerodynamic advantage? Is it better or worse on your knees?

· Folsom City Blues...
7,422 Posts
Same here, knees in. It just feels right to have body and weight over the knees, knees over the pedals…

Peace :cool:

· Registered
14,776 Posts
Depends on your bones. If you naturally walk a little toes-out, you'll likely ride knees-in. If you try to fight it, you may twist your knees and cause injury. I really don't think anybody is choosing to do it for aero or any other performance reason. They're just finding the angle that works for them.

· Registered
885 Posts
I am by no means an expert in biomechanics, nor am I an orthopedist, so I'm going only on my personal experiences. IMHO, one should be cautious about trying to conciously alter one's natural form unless there is a good reason. IOW, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Trying to change my form too fast has, in the past, led to overuse injuries for me. Trying to pedal toes down at the bottom of my stroke led to shin splint-like pain (though it probably wasn't actually shin splints). Trying to pull up on the pedals led to knee strain. Trying to pedal knee inwards led to knee pain and PT.

Now, the operative phrase may be "too fast" - maybe I just overdid it. I do tend to overdo at times. Only one of the injuries caused me to seek treatment, and the PT I did for my knee was very mild - stretching my hamstrings and calves worked very well. However, the shin pain cost me a couple of weeks, the knee strain about two months of reduced cycling during peak season (Jul - Aug), and the PT had me off the bike for a month and reduced miles for two, ripping the heart out of one season of cycling (again, Jul - Sept).