Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· No team-cest unless 8+!
7,287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone tell me about the frame...

I was looking at building up my first cross bike and just need a frame. My LBS with Kona doesn't stock one of these, but they could get one for me.

Things I'm curious about-

If you buy just the frame, does it come with a fork?

Do the tubes have a flattened out section for shouldering it?

Also, how is the handling/fit? I'm new to cross bikes and know nothing about them. How they should feel/fit relatiave to road bikes.

It will be used for light touring (about 120 miles every weekend to my girlfriend's house-- none of my road bikes have a rack mount and would like to be able to bring some stuff there and back) and I would like to be able to start cross racing at some point.

Any other suggestions for brands/frames? What I'm looking for is a race worthy frame with rack mounts.

Please save the "race-->rack" flaming. :( I'm a shaved leg, college student, [email protected]$$, roadie, racer who is trying to save money by only having to buy one bike to do 2 jobs.

7,287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cruzer2424 said:
Someone tell me about the frame...

I was looking at building up my first cross bike and just need a frame. My LBS with Kona doesn't stock one of these, but they could get one for me.

Things I'm curious about-

Do the tubes have a flattened out section for shouldering it?

Kona JtS? Anyone?

thanks!

· Registered
128 Posts
I've got an '05 JtS, which I love, so I'll attempt to address some of your questions.

Try to size it similar to your road bike. A standard CX bike's stem will be flipped up, to give you a more upright riding position. If mine were flipped down, the JtS would have a very similar riding position to my road bike. Even with the stem flipped down, though, it'll be less nimble than a road bike because of its longer seatstays and slacker head angle.