Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Just one more switchback
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding Ksyrium ES's and don't know if I like them that much. The back of the bike often jumps around when I am sprinting and I did not have this problem when I was using Bontrager X-Lites. I weigh 127lbs and am 5'-4". I usually race masters 35+ and occasionally Cat 4. Are the Ksyriums just too stiff for my weight? I try to keep my weight back and it does help but not enough some times.

I got a good deal on the wheels through the team and have a friend who wants to buy them. I can get a good deal on a set of AM Classic Magnesium wheels that would be lighter than the Ksyeriums but probably not as stiff which may be good for me. Or, I can get a custom set of wheels built from someone like Ligero for the same cost and +/- a few grams weight.

I know that the weight difference is not going to make that much of a difference in racing. Since the Ksyeriums are heavier than the X-Lites, I don't think it is a wheel weight issue and I don't think going to a lighter, less stiff wheel would hurt me. Would the Magnesium wheels be ok for a daily use wheel at my weight?

Opinions?

· Registered
491 Posts
the magnesiums are not recommended for daily riding by AM since the rims are so light. Plus the Magnesium corrodes easily. Also I would stay away from AM hubs, I have personally seen to many problems with those hubs. If you dont like the Mavics i would look for a custom build with some light weight hubs and rims

· Registered
10 Posts