Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to build my very first set of wheels. The front wheel is a large flange 28 hole that I will be building radially. That I think I can figure out. The rear is also a large flange 28 hole, but I want to build it 2 cross. I used a spoke calculator and I already bought the spokes, but I can not find how to do the 2 cross lacing pattern. I know what the pattern looks like near the hub, but I don't know where the spokes go in the rim. My rear Campagnolo Proton is laced 2 cross on the drive side, but the hub is not traditional- the holes are located in pairs and are offset to allow the spokes to travel in more of a straight line to the rim. I don't know that I can use the Proton as an a guide or not.

Does anyone know of a source online that would show me how to build the wheel? Maybe I am making more of this than it is, but I am new at wheel building and want to do it right.

Thanks.

·
Arrogant roadie.....
4,232 Posts
Sounds like a semi-radial spoking pattern. That's actually a good idea on a rear wheel, you know?

·
Registered
675 Posts
HillMan said:
I am about to build my very first set of wheels. The front wheel is a large flange 28 hole that I will be building radially. That I think I can figure out. The rear is also a large flange 28 hole, but I want to build it 2 cross. I used a spoke calculator and I already bought the spokes, but I can not find how to do the 2 cross lacing pattern. I know what the pattern looks like near the hub, but I don't know where the spokes go in the rim. My rear Campagnolo Proton is laced 2 cross on the drive side, but the hub is not traditional- the holes are located in pairs and are offset to allow the spokes to travel in more of a straight line to the rim. I don't know that I can use the Proton as an a guide or not.