Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding for 25 years and Im a 45 yo male 200lbs 6'

I recently got a cadence computer and noticed that I favor 75-80 rpm pushing a bigger gear. I do pretty well holding a 20mph pace for my normal 25 mile route (obviously there are sections where that falls off a bit...climbs).

My question is that I have read over and over that I should be riding at a 90+ rpm cadence so I have tried that in a few of my latest training sessions, and I have to say that I find the lactic acid seems to accumulate more and Im turning less speed. If I kick it back to 75rpm and switch to more resistance I dont feel as much burn...its there but feels like my body is eliminating it much more effectively.

Is this normal? Should I be training at 90+ regardless of the burn? Is it just my body adjusting to a new way of doing things?

·
Registered
739 Posts
It appears to me that a higher RPM is more typical of higher trained cyclist.

I believe it's more desirable (to develop a high RPM) since in higher levels of racing, there is more surging, especially in crits. Surges are easier to respond to using high RPM to close gap rather than high Torque, and keep your leg muscles fresher over the race.

I like doing "spin-ups" (per Friel book) to develop higher rpm. During one of your days between hard days, do the following:
-Warm up for 10-15 minutes
-During a one minute interval start at your normal RPM and spin up slowly to your maximum RPM. Then spin easy for 4 minutes
-repeat 6-7 more times. Try to stay smooth and minimize bouncing.

I found that this drill helped me develop great power at relatively high RPMs.

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
For a 200 lbs person, spinning at 90-95 may not be ideal. I am 145 lbs and for me 80-85 rpm is ideal on flats. And I spin much lower when climbing. Which is why on a hilly route I average around 70 rpm.