Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Pixie Sticks and Politics
716 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally decided to get LASIK surgery done. Has anybody else gotten this done and any problems / advice? I have been wearing glasses since Jr. High. I never wore them when I rode and raced because my eyesight wasn't that bad. After a 10 year "retirement" I am back on the bike, just picked up my racing license again, but I have to wear my glasses now.
I've heard that it is real quick, and no problems with halo effect. Any thoughts or issues? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,990 Posts
Some people have had no problems. Numerous others have filed lawsuits. I would do some research.

·
gazing from the shadows
27,287 Posts
I am not a medical doctor, but iirc there are two things you need to check out.

First, how many surgeries your doc has done. Lots, or don't let them do you.

Second, there are certain tests that they SHOULD do before saying you are a good candidate (corneal surface scans, curvature measurements, etc.). Make sure those test are done, because if they are not your doc is a quack.

·
Scary Teddy Bear
14,791 Posts
dr hoo said:
I am not a medical doctor, but iirc there are two things you need to check out.

First, how many surgeries your doc has done. Lots, or don't let them do you.

Second, there are certain tests that they SHOULD do before saying you are a good candidate (corneal surface scans, curvature measurements, etc.). Make sure those test are done, because if they are not your doc is a quack.