Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
your text here
13,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have only been following pro cycling for a few years, so i am still a newbie at this. but it seems this year's tour has been far more exciting. several different people donning the maillot jaune, exciting sprint finishes, and even exciting intermediate sprints a la hincapie doin the math (which suprised me, as he is not one known for his race tactics). in the past, i have not really paid too much attention to the first few stages, other than large drops in GC standings or crashes.

my question: does this tour seem more exciting because there is no clear favorite, the commentators (oln) are explaining other aspects of the race better now that lance is gone, or has this excitement always been there and i am just learning to appreciate the intermediate sprints and time bonuses?

·
Man, I'm Awesome
2,203 Posts
This is pretty standard for the first week of the Tour. Lots of lead changes and people trying to nick a few seconds at the sprints just to get a chance to wear the Yellow Jersey.

You are probably just starting to appreciate the finer points of the race more.

·
your text here
13,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i think it also has to do with being able to watch the entire race. in the past i was only able to see the clipped show at the end of the day. i have been able to watch the morning coverage of each stage so far this week, until today. i have to rely on CN while at work.

anyway, i dont recall the giro being like this this past year, but i was only able to read it and see th eweekend coverage.

·
Registered
135 Posts
If Lance were in the Tour this year, he probably would not be in yellow. With not TTT the first week and no TT until stage 7, the organizers have set it up to give sprinters the chance to pass around the jersey the first week.