Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Lesser of two evils - updated

Let me give some back story first: I am a college student on a tight budget. I have an old Trek mtn bike that I use as a sort of commuter/ hybrid. Its getting old, and the frame is small too.

I want to either:
Restore my old Trek, get new tires/ tubes, handlebars, shifters, and brakes. Drivetrain is fine for now. It does need a tune up though.

Or I could go up to Walmart and get a cheap GMC Denali bike.

All I want to do is ride, I don't want to race. What should I do?

·
Registered
9,666 Posts
Depends if you do the work yourself or have a bike shop do it.

If you plan on having a bike shop do the restoration you might be better off hitting up craigslist or the campus bulletin board. (obviously for something not in need of restoration itself)

"new tires/ tubes, handlebars, shifters, and brakes. Drivetrain is fine for now. It does need a tune up though." At many bike shops will cost about the same as a decent functioning used bike.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I would be able to do everything myself, I have been looking on Craigslist for a while now, but haven't found anything.

I know the GMC is a Walmart bike and isn't good, but would it not be fine for biking around town? Maybe change shifters and handlebars later on when they start to fail?

I almost want to get that just to work on it because I love to work on stuff. And I haven't found a bike on Craigslist yet that is a decent price and condition to restore.

·
Banned
697 Posts
If you can do everything yourself then get the parts as cheap as possible and do it. If you need assistance with some adjustments, the basic tune up service may run you another $70 at most shops. I notice little difference in a brand new bike and an older bike that is tuned up and in good condition.

·
Banned
697 Posts