Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
953 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would appreciate feedback on the above pump.
I like the idea of a hose. It makes it less likely to rip the valve.
I would appreciate however a pump that would take advantage of my pump peg.

·
Registered
3,749 Posts
I use the Lezyne Road Drive

I've been packing the Road Drive L for about 6 months or so. The main advantage is that is easy on valve stems. It does take a little longer to use as you have to unscrew the hose from the pump body and screw it onto the other end of the pump. I find it easier to screw the hose onto the tube valve first then screw the pump onto the valve Otherwise you have to rotate the entire pump while screwing it onto the valve, and that is a little awkward. Secondly- it does take many strokes to get a tire to a rideable psi. It took me 180 strokes to get up to around 90psi. I figure 200 to get up to 100 psi(I use 25 tires). It is a little on the long side for a mini, the L is 11". I've always used my mini pumps in conjunction with co2. Pump first to seat the tube, put in around 30-40 psi then finish off with a 12g co2. If you have a pump peg on your bike, just about any full length pump will work. Blackburn, Zefal, Silca and others. I pack a full length pump on my old steel bike and it does not have a peg. The newer Blackburn's fit snugly and have rubberized ends. Full length pumps means you have air as long as you have two arms. Takes me around 72 strokes to get up to a rideable psi.

For info-I wrote a detailed review for Performance Bike on the Road Drive L and they did not publish it. They have no reviews listed for the pump. Most of my review was favorable, no clue why it was rejected.

I like the Lezyne, but there are other mini's that work just as well or better. I'm just hard on valve stems. That's why I bought it. For that reason, it works great.