Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
All,

Ive been riding for a year now, but I am still very much a beginner. My bike is an early 80s Club Fuji. I have ridden the bike for 100s of miles over the last year and I am in need of doing some repairs on the bike. I am wondering how much an old bike limits someone like me. I try to average 100 miles per week and the longest Ive gone in one day is 56 miles. So, I'm still a beginner, but I wonder how much better I would be with a newer, better bike. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bicycle Bicycles--Equipment and supplies Wheel Tire Crankset

·
Registered
4,483 Posts
As long as the bike fits, the seat is comfortable, and all the parts work as they should, you'll be fine. People will wax poetic and spooge all over the new technology that's come about in the 30 years since your bike was purchased, but in the end, it's just a bike. Most of the improvements over the last decades are conveniences or refinements of what worked fine before.

When the cost of repairing your bike isn't financially justifiable and/or parts are no longer available, then it will be time to upgrade.

·
What the what???
12,922 Posts
All,

Ive been riding for a year now, but I am still very much a beginner. My bike is an early 80s Club Fuji. I have ridden the bike for 100s of miles over the last year and I am in need of doing some repairs on the bike. I am wondering how much an old bike limits someone like me. I try to average 100 miles per week and the longest Ive gone in one day is 56 miles. So, I'm still a beginner, but I wonder how much better I would be with a newer, better bike. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.