Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The owner and chief mechanic of a prominent LBS swears that lithium grease is
just like "wax", becoming a gunky mess that attracts dirt and debris, and thus obviously should be avoided as a chain lubricant (I already know that), but rather be used for the BB bearings (I have done that). I am requesting validation of such a perception. (I would like to show him tangible facts pro or against it.)
Thank you in advanced for your input. (I will appreciate it!)

·
Know It All
152 Posts
Alright, I'm not an engineer, but here goes. Grease is an oil with an emulsifier (meaning mayo is a grease -- oil + eggs). In the case of lithium grease it's probably mineral oil and lithium soap. The emulsifier makes grease more viscous then straight oil but keeps its ability to reduce friction. So, one of the main uses for grease is in places you want to reduce friction, but where oil wouldn't stay put (like in bearings).

I'm not sure what you mean about lithium grease being like wax as wax is the opposite of what you claim -- it isn't particularly gunky and doesn't attract much dirt (although it may not make the best chain lube because it doesn't seem to last too long). But yeah, don't use lithium grease on your chain because it would be a gunky mess (although my can of spray lithium grease does suggest that use). I do use it for bearings, although there are fancier greases you can use.

·
Registered
789 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wax