Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am a longtime Southern Cal resident but will be making a move to Colorado in the next few months. My girlfriend is currently attending CU for a PHD in Psych. Well, we are making the move to move in together and so we have been looking to buy a house in Boulder but I am finding that home prices there are almost a bad as LA! So I am including DT Denver near LoDo, specifically the Highlands area just NW and across the Platte River from LoDo.

There are many factors that will affect where I buy, but one that ranks high on my list is cycling. Boulder has awesome riding up the many canyon roads so if cycling were the top factor, it seems a no brainer right?? How is the riding in Denver? The Platte bikepath goes for miles but it is all flat. From LoDo, it seems about 15 miles to the base of the foothills near Golden, Morrison, etc. My question is this: Are there any good routes that are designated bikepaths from LoDo to the canyon roads of the foothills?? Then once at the foothills, what are some of the best mountain roads where I can put a hurting on myself???

Besides the riding pros/cons, what are some of the other obvious or not so obvious factors that would make you choose one or the other?? Restaurants and nightlife?? Real estate appreciation potential?? Sporting and cultural events??

BTW, sorry for the very long post but if you read and answered, I owe ya big time!!! Thanks and Ride ON!!!

·
Registered
51 Posts
Ride-Fly said:
Hi all,