Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
This is my first post in this forum. Nice to see a group of committed bikers, whatever they ride.

First some history. I have been riding bikes since I was 4 years old with a short hiatus during my teenage years. When I returned to biking I bought a road bike and proceeded to destroy it in no time. I heard about a new invention called a mountain bike and to make a long story shorter, I have since owned many mountain bikes.

Now, why am I here? Well. my daily commute recently got much longer and none of my bikes works well for getting me around town. I tried converting my old HT to a 2 speed, but this didn't work well. I have a light FS rig and it just doesn't get the job done either. My most comfortable ride is an older all mountain rig, but it is too slow and heavy. Sooooo, I need a new bike! I did some research and came to the conclusion that a 'cross' bike would be best. I tend to jump curbs, take shortcuts through singletrack, etc., but I am not particularly hard on equipment. I would likely use this bike mostly on pavement, but would also use it for smoother dirt trails and might even take it over some drops (I started out on a rigid bike so am not scared to take a non-suspended bike down a steep decline). I am about 6" and 180 lbs.

Finally...my question. After some research and phoning around town for what is available, I have narrowed my choices to the following:
2008 Kona - Jake the Snake
2007 Lemond - Poprad (1x10 with some very nice wheels and a quality component mix)
2007 Jamis - Nova

All are new and all are within my price range. I know it is impossible to say which bike is best for me (fit and desired use make this difficult), but do any of you much more 'cross-savvy' riders have any comments on the pros and cons of these 3 bikes? Any other recommendations?

Thanks to everyone who reads (and hopefully responds) to my post!

Bret

·
Registered