Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
iedereen op de fiets
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding a pair of Sidi Genius for the last 5 years. Do you replace them on a regular basis, ride them till they break or replace them when you find a prettier pair?

·
Premium Member
10,106 Posts
Just call me Imelda Marcos

BikinCO said:
I have been riding a pair of Sidi Genius for the last 5 years. Do you replace them on a regular basis, ride them till they break or replace them when you find a prettier pair?
Just because you have one pair of serviceable cycling shoes does not mean that you can't buy more. I have a pair of Sidi Genius shoes that I bought over five years ago -- and three other pairs of Sidi's that I have bought since then. It's nice to have at least two pairs of shoes so that if one pair gets wet, you can use the other pair while the wet pair dries out. It also is nice to have a really well ventilated pair for hot weather, and a more closed pair for colder weather. You get the picture.

I know people who have shoes older than my 5 year old Sidis, ride more miles than I do and still are wearing their old shoes. If something is working I see no need to replace it.

·
Squirrel Hunter
3,806 Posts
Sidi

Well poor planning on your part. The Sidi shoes will last forever and never go out of style. The only way I got a new pair was when my son grew to my size and I gave him my seven year old pair which he beat on for another two years until he outgrew them and now they are my rain shoes.

If you want new shoes go buy them but don't come here looking for justification because you probably don't need them.

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Until recently, I was riding the same pair of Sid road shoes since '96. The heel eventaully pulled from the sole. I was able to glue it down for a year before I spilled the beans for a new pair. I figure I'm good for another 10 years now.