Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am fairly new to road cycling and am looking to get more serious in terms of bike and equipment. I currently am riding a 2010 Specialized Allez Sport with the stock pedals with toe cages. I plan on probably getting a Tarmac at some point next year but am currently in the process of getting equipment that can be used when that time comes instead of buying things twice.

I am currently looking into clipless pedals and was thinking about the Look Keo 2 Max Carbon. I've looked online for reviews but haven't really found any - only for the regular Keo 2 Max. I've heard that the regular Keo 2 Max don't hang right and make it a hassle to clip in. I was wondering if that problem has since been fixed or isn't a problem with the Carbon model. I can get the carbon models with cleats for $145 and was wondering if that is a decent deal.

Thanks and I appreciate all the help and information I can get.

·
Registered
409 Posts
I have those pedals and I like them a lot. They click in fairly easily and they are smooth coming out. I have had zero issues with them in the 7,000km I have done in them this year.

If I were to do it all over again I might consider speedplay, but I am certainly content with the pedals I currently have.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I did a lot of searching around about pedals, and I too was going to get the keo 2 max. Read more then once that they had issues with annoying squeaking. I went with Ultegra fearing the squeak. I have been pleased with them.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Recently gone from keo Carbons to the Max2 Carbon, no issues with tight seals or anything else, click in is much more positive even on the lowest tension setting
Ride an forget :thumbsup:

·
Registered
243 Posts