Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Bsilver
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am ready to pull the trigger on some new pedals and shoes. I want the Look style pedal. Now I am reading that they squeak and make noise. I have also read many little fixes, but I do not want to spend top $$$ on pedals that need to be tweaked so they do not make noise. What is the real deal? Look Keo or SDP-SL?

bsilver

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
I have been riding LOOK Sprints for 5 years and Max 2's for one year. They'll both squeak from time to time - maybe 2 minutes on every 15th ride. Quite infrequently. I can usually get it to stop during the ride from pulling up more on my stroke or pushing down more...focusing on one part of the stroke more and putting in more power there.

Once it didn't go away and I used some wax on the cleats and the pedal.

For me it hasn't been annoying enough to switch pedals. And, if I had the choice I'd get the Max 2's. Feel a bit better, are wider and more contact, and the clip in feels more secure with the metal plate. Under $100 at PBK, when in stock.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Used Looks ever since they came out in the latter part of the last century. I'm convinced that the only way to avoid the dreaded Look-squeak is to use Look pedals with the black fixed cleats or abandon Look. I hear that Keos squeak much less than the old Arc/Delta Look pedals, but there are riders on Keos used with the red or grey floating cleats who report squeaks.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Google search returns an overwhelming number of threads about the keo squeek. I must be lucky 'cause I currently have 2 pairs of Look Keo Classics that I've ridden for 2 years - 6k miles total. never squeeked. not once, Nada.