Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got the OK from the Boss for a new bike. Been riding the Berlin I bought new when I was a freshman in High School. Many happy miles on the old girl. Just a few hours away from turning 53, time for a smoother ride. My favorite LBS carries Trek and the Madone 5.2 looks like good choice for my likes, needs and budget.

Just like to get some feedback about my choice.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Got the OK from the Boss for a new bike. Been riding the Berlin I bought new when I was a freshman in High School. Many happy miles on the old girl. Just a few hours away from turning 53, time for a smoother ride. My favorite LBS carries Trek and the Madone 5.2 looks like good choice for my likes, needs and budget.

Just like to get some feedback about my choice.

Just ride it and grind it. Don't forget the boss also.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My LBS doesn't have one in stock. They do have a 2012 Madone 6.5 I'm eyeing. Going to talk to the shop owner and try to work out a deal today. It's a Project One to boot!

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,667 Posts
i had a P1 6.9SSL for the last year, and when the new frame came out i wanted to switch to it (i work in a shop, and i like to have current stuff for whatever reason) so i just built a bike w/ the 5.9 frame which is the same as the 5.2. great bike...stiff, steers well, at least as comfortable as my 6.9 just heavier. it's funny because my boss has a 7.9SSL w/ the vapor coat paint job and all new Red w/ Bontrager carbon wheels. very stealthy. when customers come in and check out bikes, they look at his and say "oh, cool", then they see mine and say "ohhhh, great paint job!". i'm really happy w/ it, for sure.

View attachment 276601

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·