Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys and gals,

I am new to the road biking scene, currently I commute to work using my mountain bike, but i'd like to start doing races and long rides and a mountain bike would kill me going for a 40+ mile ride..

Now the question I have is about sizing I have gone to so many shops and tried various bikes.. I am trying to make sense of the knowledge I've been given.

Specialized Roubaix - 56cm = too big
Specialized Roubaix - 54cm =just right
Cannondale Synapse 5 - 51 cm = Just right
Felt Z100 - 52cm = too small.

I am looking at a cannondale 2008 Supersix 54cm.. But I am worried about sizing as multiple people have said various things..

I am 5'7" 31-32 inseam on pants 31.5 Leg length..
My Arm Span is 67.5 inches or 171.45 Cm

Thanks,
RR

·
Registered
368 Posts
Since you seem to prefer a 51 from Cannondale (Synapse...Just right), then the 54 might literally be a stretch.

The only way to know for sure is to test ride it. There is no magic formula that we can give you over the internet, no matter how many measurements you take. Bikes are real, physical objects that you need to interact with over thousands of miles. If you're looking at a killer deal on the last Supersix in the shop, and it's the wrong size, just buy a new CAAD10 in the right size, for what will likely be the same price.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
When trying to pin down sizing requirements, you have to keep in mind that there are no industry standards for measuring to determine a bikes frame size. So comparing brands (and sometimes even models within brands) is going to get you little in the way of reliable info.

The other variable here is that you're comparing relaxed geo bikes like the Felt 'Z' series and Roubaix, with a race bike - the SuperSix. Even if you compared a race bike with an endurance bike of similar geo, they're likely to fit and feel different.