Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for approximately 2 years on a Bianchi via narone (al/carb). Im a triathlete, not serious- competitive, but more to have fun. Im looking to upgrade my current wheels (which Ill list below). If anyone could help me out, Id appreciate it!

Stats:

30yoa male 165lbs slender
55cm bike
current wheels: mavic aksium race (prob. 2008ish model) shimano

riding conditions:
very hilly, some roads are plagued with blight

looking to spend 1300-1500 on wheelset (clincher)

I looked at the zipp, 404s (2008 model) HED and some others. Im seeing mixed reviews on the price vs. value, and want a good, comfortable, light solid wheel, that will be good for training/racing and to gain speed and obvs. help on the tough hills!

Hope this helps and thanks again!

· Registered
3,477 Posts
Those Aksiums weigh what? Like 1800g?

I'd check out Neuvation and Bicycle Wheel Warehouse and buy yourself 2 pairs of wheels for the budget you have. Maybe a set of Neuvation C50 clinchers and some BWW Blackset Race w/ CX Ray spokes. That would give you lots of versatility to adapt to different conditions and needs.

· Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys.

Yea, theyre pretty heavy. I saw zipp 800/400 set on e-bay for 1300. Not sure if thats a god deal or not. Seem like theyre in good shape. I checked out the Neuvation C50, they look pretty decent. How would they do in the environment I described? (and for 500 less then used Zipps)

· Registered
613 Posts