Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Power Napper
2,853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am starting to think about my training goals for next year. It would be really nice to find some events I have never done before. Primarily road events, but I would consider some easier mountain bike event. My experience includes centuries, double centuries, 24 hour mtn bike races (on a team) and multiday touring.

New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona, Utah all under consideration.

All ready done: SF Century, Enchanted Circle, White Sands Century, Tour de Tucson, Iron Horse Classic, Durango 100, 24 Hrs in the Old Pueblo, Bike Tour of Colorado (twice).

So what you got??

·
Proud luddite
7,236 Posts
I've done the Taylor House Ride (a century) in Flagstaff, AZ a couple times. It's held in July but with the high elevation there, the temps are quite nice. The last time I did it (2005) they changed the route and it was pretty tough...lots of climbing and I struggled a bit with the elevation. But if you handled the high elevations in the rides you listed (especially Durango) without any trouble, you'll do fine in Flagstaff. Support for the ride was nice, and my only complaint was having to ride on the shoulder of an interstate highway for a stretch...but maybe they've changed the route since then.

·
Power Napper
2,853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cool! Thanks. Haven't heard of either one of those.

Have ridden a fair amount around Wilcox. I imagine that it heads down toward Chiricahua and then around somewhere??

Flagstaff in July would be great. I could even take the train back and forth from Santa Fe and skip driving altogether.

·
Power Napper
2,853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Nice thanks terry. I'm a Buff too. Alumnus that is.

·
Get me to In&Out
4,775 Posts