Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished riding the Tierra Bella Century this past weekend and had a blast. Since I'm relatively new to riding in centuries, what other rides are out there worth doing? I like routes that have at least 5,000 feet of climbing.

·
Registered
279 Posts
You might try The Wine Country Century... although the 100 mile option is only 3300 ft of climbing, it's a popular ride with varied scenery... the Double Metric has more climbing and takes you out to the coast for a stint up Hwy 1.... highly recommended!

http://www.srcc.com/

Also, the Eagle Cycling Club does a nice annual century in Napa County, The Tour of Napa. A bit more vertical, but further off... August.

http://www.eaglecyclingclub.org/tour.htm

Both have excellent support.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
stinkfoot said:
Try the Sequoia ride out of Palo Alto - well supported, scenic route, and great climbs.

http://www.westernwheelers.org/main/sequoia/index.htm
The Sequoia is my favorite century on the peninsula. It is quite a bit tougher than the Tierra Bella. I think the full century has almost 10,000 feet of climbing and the 200K is a little more. This year's routes are similar to last year: Palo Alto to Santa Cruz and back.

There are some interesting centuries starting in Santa Cruz. The Santa Cruz Mountains Challenge is probably the best. There are some easier ones that head south instead of up.

The Grizzly Peak Century and the Primavera Century in the east bay are pretty nice. I'm sure there are others. There are lots in Marin, too.

These centuries probably all have easy to find web sites with more info.

·
Registered
5,347 Posts
If it is still open, Strawberry Fields Century is fun one. Just a bit more climbing than Tierra Bella, and some good food.
The Santa Cruz mtn challenge has a section that makes Metcalf seem easy. It can be a pretty tough ride.

·
Large blurry non-mythical
1,236 Posts