Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm new to the road bike thing. I have used my brother's mountain bike for years to commute a bit, but I'm finally investing in my own ride and I've been looking around a bit.

I tend to ride in only one gear (and a pretty low gear at that), so I figured a single-speed would be a nice, fun way to go when purchasing my own ride.

I've looked around and found lots of nice options and was hoping I could get some advice... I'm considering the Raleigh Rush Hour or One Way, Kona's Paddy Wagon, and Schwinn's Le Tour (not single, I know) or Madison, and Jamis' Sputnik.

Anyone have any tips for buying? All are in the same general range with similar features, but I really don't know what's what when I'm looking.

I have seen some positive chat here about the Rush Hour, which I'm leaning towards. But does anyone know much about the One Way? It seems like nearly the same bike, except with the nicer leather seat and handles... it too has some nice reviews on other sites, but not here.

Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
863 Posts
Not much is going to be different about these bikes. Single speed bikes in that price range don't have a lot of room for one to be tons better than another. The new Paddy Wagon looks great, and I was considering an 07 Sputnik (the one with the Easton fork). I would go for the One Way over the Rush Hour. I tested a Rush Hour and had some mad toe overlap in my size, and you don't really need track geometry for the road (I don't understand why they brag about track geometry on their website in the least). You need road geometry for the road, and that's where you're intending to ride. Haven't really looked at the Schwinns.

·
Registered
863 Posts
dc. said:
thanks for the quick input and feedback. i'll probably just look for the best deal i can find between a one way and a paddy wagon.

:)