Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with campy, but i've offered to figure out how to get a 1:1 low gear on a campagnolo mirage 8sp drivetrain. The front is a triple and although i know i can add a 26t 74mm front ring... i anticipate chain drops, mediocre shifting, and an inconveniently large jump to the middle ring. I'm inclined to just drop it to 28t.

So i'm looking at the cassette. Can i buy a 9sp 28t campy cassette and stack the cogs as i please, using the 8sp spacers?

I'd appreciate any insight you might have regarding older campagnolo.

Here's a picture of the lever reach adjustment screw i added.
Tool Cable Wire Carbon Machine

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
I'm not sure the spacing will work as you propose (not sure about cog thickness), and the freehub spline pattern might have changed ingoing from 8 to 9. Not sure about that, either.

Have you tried to find an 8-speed cassette with a 28? Miche may make one.

Personally, I'd try the small ring first. Shifting might be a little funky, but I doubt that the 26 would be much worse than 28.

As an old-timer, I am amused to hear early 90s Campy equipment described as "vintage." From your heading I figured we were going to be talking about 5-speed freewheels and friction shifters. ;-)

Good luck to you and your short-fingered friend. That adjustment screw looks like a pretty clever kludge.

Reactions: bubble

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,426 Posts
If you want to use 9 speed cogs on an 8 speed body, you'll have to file the cogs so all the splines are the same width. 8 speed cogs were all loose, and were marked as to the order to install them on the body.......I can't remember if 9 speed cassettes were loose, or on carriers....(and if they were the same thickness as 8 speed)......There are a few campy experts here.

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
9 spd cogs are 0.15 mm thinner than 8-spd.