Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, newbie here and first post!

A little background info before I ask my question.

So about a month ago, I was shopping around for a bike. I was looking for something to help me get in shape. Anyway, I knew nothing about cycling and I asked a friend for some help. He advised me on buying a mountain bike, as it would be more "versatile". After riding 4-5 times a week - on the road, for a month... I figured out that I would really never ride on mountain biking trails. So now I am stuck with a 2008 cannondale f5 mtb. I am really enjoying riding but its killing me knowing I bought the wrong type of bike. I set a goal for myself to ride this bike for the rest of the year (shouldnt be a problem riding year round, living in Los Angeles) and save 50 cents for every mile I ride and lose 50 lbs (I am 250 right now) and then purchase a decent road bike by the end of the year.

Ok, to my question: What can I do to prepare for riding a road bike on my mountain bike? Is there anything? What else can I do to make the mountain bike more road like? I already put some 1.6 slicks on it, I have clipless pedals, and a nice saddle.

Any advice or tips would be great, thanks in advanced!!!

·
Registered
3,238 Posts
ride, ride & ride some more. Then when you ready, take it back to the LBS where you bought it and trade it in on a road bike.

·
I ride in circles..
4,645 Posts
If you want to feel faster you can get some slicks. You will also have better traction without the knobs.

If you continue riding the mountain bike you'll feel like you're flying on the road bike!

·
Registered
896 Posts
clip pedals and slicks. make sure that you get the bike fitted. mtb and road fit differently, but at least get your new mtb setup properly. then just ride the heck out of it. you'll be fine, and you can enjoy the trails while you are at.

·
Premium Member
21,910 Posts