Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner when it comes to maintenance, so I'll describe my problem as detailed as possible.

I've noticed that my front derailleur wasn't shifting properly. When I put my bike up on my stand, I looked closer and noticed my crank is wobbling ever so slightly when I turn the pedal. I took off the crank arm, and tugged on the crank arm that has the chain on it.. and saw that it moved freely side to side without any major force (I hope I'm explaining this right) Does this mean the bearings are no good? The part that says do not disassemble is not loose. Just a lot of play in between the crank and the BB.

Any thoughts? Thanks

~ Dura Ace.. bike is about one year old.

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
No, if you took off the left arm then the right arm with the chainring will be loose. You have to preload the bearings from the left side, so you don't really know what, or if, anything is wrong. Most chainrings are not perfectly straight, so it might not even be a problem.

·
Registered
21,831 Posts
TIghten up

talentous said:
I've noticed that my front derailleur wasn't shifting properly. When I put my bike up on my stand, I looked closer and noticed my crank is wobbling ever so slightly when I turn the pedal. I took off the crank arm, and tugged on the crank arm that has the chain on it.. and saw that it moved freely side to side without any major force (I hope I'm explaining this right) Does this mean the bearings are no good? The part that says do not disassemble is not loose. Just a lot of play in between the crank and the BB.

Any thoughts? ~ Dura Ace.. bike is about one year old.