Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two road bikes I'm interested in have similar components except for the wheels.
The 2011 Felt Z5 comes with the CXP22 assembled with Felt hubs..etc...
The 2011 Scott CR1 Team comes with the Askium Race wheelset.

Scott bike is $100 more..(suggested retail). Is there an advantage of one of the wheelsets over the other? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I bought a 2010 CR1 Team.... and immediatly replaced the wheels with some 32 spoke deep Vs, mostly due to the fact that I weigh quite a bit.

Aside from the strength issue, the consensus is that the Aksiums are just an "okay" wheelset and they are very heavy, etc.

Can't speak much about the wheels on the Felt since I've got no experience, but my guess is that they'd probobly perform similarly to the Aksiums depending on how you ride/how much you weigh, etc.

My advice is that If you aren't going to blow the wheels up immediatly because of your weight, I'd say just ride whatever you get until it breaks and then upgrade. :)

·
Registered
11 Posts
I had the CXP22's on my '08 Felt F85 and I just upgraded a couple of weeks ago. I can't really say anything bad about the wheels except that they were heavy (somewhere north of 2200 grams for the set) and were somewhat out of true after a year and a half or so of riding. The upgrade wasn't totally necessary since the wheels likely would have lasted a while, but I just felt like they were a bit too heavy and I'm much happier with my new set. I would guess the Aksiums fall into the same category so I would just go with the bike you like best and worry about wheel upgrades when you feel the time is right.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·